While fixing my hair one morning before heading out the door, I think, Oh, I need to get my umbrella and put it in my bag in case it rains today.  I walk into the kitchen to pick up said umbrella from the table and pack it away.  But that’s when I realize, as soon as I thought it, the memory of what I was meant to do vanished.  But my body remembered because it walked me into the kitchen.  My mind cannot recall what I was meant to get.  The umbrella remains behind and sure enough, it rains.

I’m analysing a research transcript when I think,  Oh, I need to look up that reference for the article my Supervisor recommended.  So I quickly pull up my browser and…sit there.  (Like Mozilla Firefox, Well, this is embarrassing…)  I have zero recollection of why I’ve pulled up a new page or what I am meant to do with it.  But while I’m here, I might as well email that colleague/play that song on YouTube that’s been dancing through my mind the last few days/message my mother on Facebook/look up that website one of my interviewees mentioned…two hours later I’m still online and the thing I went there to do in the first place has flitted away into oblivion. Until I shut down.  Then it comes back.

I’m sitting at my desk, planner at my elbow when I remember an upcoming appointment I need to put in my itinerary. Oh! Let me write that down so I don’t forget… I immediately turn to my planner, find my pen and locate a blank space to write down…Now what was it?  I know there was something I needed to do…I put down my planner, muttering to myself, hoping whatever “it” was will return.

My favorite moments? Having these thoughts when I’m nowhere near my planner.  Like when I’m walking in to work in the mornings…or in the tearoom, fixing my lunch…or in the loo.  Those are the moments I have the most brilliant ideas but I can’t remember them.

And I think I’m losing my English.  How do I spell…I pull up dictionary.com and type it in, misspelled, of course.  It kindly corrects me.  “Did you mean…”  Ah, right!  How could I forget?  That’s i-n-c-o-n-s-e-q-u-e-n-t-i-a-l.

It’s always taken me an inordinate amount of time to write emails because I read them repeatedly for “voice.”  Lately though, while I’m re-reading, I notice my voice has been leaving words out.  Or adding an ‘s’ to the end of a word that is usually singular.  Or using homonyms incorrectly (i.e., ‘hear’ when I meant to say ‘here’).  Today in an email to a member of our department, I signed off with my usual “line of appreciation”, albeit a bit ungrammatically: I appreciate your help and hard works on my behalf and look forward to talking with again.  Golly.  Thankfully, my re-read caught the problems with my voice.

A new colleague introduces herself and for the next few weeks, we exchange pleasantries whenever we see one another, with me greeting her by name each time.  But suddenly one day I’m struck with a thought: Oh no!  Did I remember her name right?  Have I been calling her by the wrong name all this time, Caroline when it should have been Catherine?!  So I stop calling her by name.  And things get awkward when on break in the tearoom one day, I address a question to her but have to be heard over those speaking around us and she doesn’t look my way immediately.  I have a flash of panic that I’ll have to call her by name but do I have the right one?  She looks my way (oh good!) and the conversation continues.  I begin casually dropping her name in sentences to other people.  Is ‘Caroline’ here today?  And then gauge their response.  No brows draw together in bafflement, no guffaws at my expense that I’ve been saying her name wrong <heh heh> and I finally begin to realise after about a week of this, it was just another firefly moment.  I begin confidently using her name again and we move along splendidly, social faux pas averted.  I hope she didn’t notice…

~

The fireflies of my thoughts blink on.  Then off.  On.  Then off.  And I am left waiting for the on switch again.

My self-diagnosis?  “PhD-related Alzheimer’s”.

My self-remedy? Submit my thesis and get my brain back.

Still, my mother assures me that this is actually ‘normal’ and has nothing to do with my PhD.  It has everything to do, she says, with ‘growing older.’  I turn 40 this year.  Welcome to the rest of my life.

Ooo…look at the pretty fireflies…